GET SDI Portal v.3.0 – the new(-ish) kid on the block

getsdilogoI wrote about this a few years back and now Geospatial Enabling Technologies (GET) has annouced the release of its latest version of GET SDI Portal. The 3.0 version includes several new tools including:

  • Advanced search tools using descriptive and spatial criteria
  • Saving features in several differen formats (Shapefile, GML, CSV, KML etc.)
  • Adding selected features to a list for further use
  • Ability to see your data in 3D  via Google Earth

The GET SDI portal is an open-source web mapping framework initially developed to fullfill the the European INSPIRE directive. It has moved a bit since then, now offering tools not only for the INSPIRE Discovery, View and Download Services but also for data editing, advanced search, and even for document uploading.

I never tried to install it before, but I am currently in the process of researching web mapping platforms for a project I am working on so this time I did. I must say that I was pretty impressed with the software. Surely enough, there is functionality there that you can find in other applications but this one is quite comprehensive. However, the main reason I am quite keen on it is its ease of installation. Working mainly on windows platforms, some of the other open-source products I tried were quite-lets say-“challenging” to get them installed. I got GET SDI running on IIS and looking at my first map in less than 2hrs. That to me says something!

If you want to give it a go, head over to Github to download it, have a look at how it was implemented in Greece’s Regulatory Authority for Energy (RAE) or look at its user base through a story map.

Leave a Reply

